The Parish Meeting


‘Selmeston’ describes both the local government and the ecclesiastical parishes of that name, which share boundaries but have wholly separate administrations. The name is also used to refer to the group of houses to the north of the A27 that may also be referred to as Selmeston village.

For local government purposes, Selmeston is a Parish Meeting, the lowest tier of local government. It held its first meeting as such in 1894.

A Parish Meeting is usually appropriate where the population is fewer than 150. Unlike a Parish Council, a Parish Meeting is not a corporate body representing its electors but consists of all the electors, who must elect a chairman annually. The chairman has responsibility for every aspect of the civil administration of the parish, including the holding of any property and the protection of amenities such as footpaths. In the case of Selmeston, the only significant property is the war memorial, for which nearby Alciston has joint responsibility. The village hall is managed separately from the Parish Meeting, by trustees appointed under a trust deed.

Wealden district council is the next tier of government, and Selmeston is part of the Alfriston ward, together with Alfriston, Berwick, Chalvington & Ripe and Alciston. The ward returns one councillor, who was a Conservative, Philip Ede, in the May 2015 election.

Selmeston is represented at the East Sussex County Council as part of the Alfriston, East Hoathly & Hellingly ward. The May 2011 election returned a Conservative councillor, Nick Bennett.

The parliamentary district for Selmeston is Lewes. The general election in May 2015 elected a Conservative, Maria Caulfield.

At European level, Selmeston is represented by the South-East region, which holds ten seats in the European Parliament. The June 2011 election returned five Conservatives, two UKIP, one Liberal Democrat, one Labour and one Green Party member, none of whom lives in East Sussex.


Leave a Reply